Government of Uttar Pradesh

नगर निगम मथुरा वृन्दावन

History of Nagar Nigam

With an aim to generate more revenue by providing better facilities to the tourists, the Yogi Adityanath-led Uttar Pradesh government on 9 May 2017 decided to merge the local bodies of two temple towns of Mathura-Vrindavan.

The decision was taken at a cabinet meeting of the state government which was chaired by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. The cabinet passed Lord Krishna's town Mathura-Vrindavan as a Nagar Nigam.

Nagar Palika is known as Municipality whereas Nagar Nigam is known as Municipal Corporation. The members of the Nagar Palika are elected representatives for a term of five years. The town is divided into wards according to population, and representatives are elected from each ward separately. The members elect a president among themselves to preside over and conduct meetings. Employees of the state government of India, including Chief Officer, Town Planning Engineer, Auditor, Sanitary Inspector, Medical Officer for Health, and Education Officer, among many others, who come from the state public services, are appointed to handle the administrative affairs of the Nagar Palika. And Nagar Nigam is an urban local body that administers a city of population 100,000 or more.

So, to strengthen the infrastructure and to purify the Yamuna and to facilitate local residents and pilgrims, it has been decided to make Mathura and Vrindavan together to form a municipal corporation.

The formation of the Municipal Corporation will help in developing the infrastructure in these two temple cities and generate employment.